What are the Different Health Hazard Classes?

When dealing with workplace safety, there are a variety of different risks that need to be evaluated. One of the most significant is going to be the different health hazards that can exist within a workplace. Within the Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals (GHS) multiple different health hazard classes need to be understood. Learning about what these classes are will help you to be better able to identify risks and address them effectively so that everyone can remain safe.

The GHS system identifies the health hazard classes as acute toxicity, skin corrosion, skin irritation, eye effects, sensitization, germ cell mutagenicity, carcinogenicity, reproductive toxicity, target organ systemic toxicity (single and repeated exposure), and aspiration toxicity. Each of these classes has a different set of hazards associated with it. For example, when looking at the skin irritation category different chemicals can cause different levels of irritation. Being able to put different hazards into different classes will help you to identify risks in the workplace.

While hazard classes like this are more commonly associated with the GHS system, they can also apply to other things as well. The important thing is to know what types of health hazards exist in your facility so that you can eliminate them when possible and minimize them if they can’t be eliminated. Take some time to learn more about different health hazard classes that may apply to your workplace so that you can take the necessary steps to keep your employees and anyone else in the area as safe as possible.


View all GHS Q&A

Free E-Book

GHS Guide

A step-by-step guide to GHS compliance.


Free E-Book

Hazcom Guide

Learn how to stay safe and compliant with OSHA's Hazard Communication Standard.


Free Samples

Get samples of our most popular products so you can see the quality before you buy.

Other FREE Resources:

Helpful Resources